Baby Barrett #2 (36 weeks in the making)

(Read with caution. Pregnancy Posts may have T.M.I.)

How far along? 36 weeks, due May 6th

Total weight gain: 23 pounds – (That’s 20 pounds LESS than I weighed at the end of my pregnancy with Lawson!) I have and still do feel fabulous… I think it’s because I’ve kept it under control with cravings and not “eating for two” this time around. I learned my lesson with how hard it is to lose the pregnancy weight afterwards 🙂 I still have a healthy weight gain for this pregnancy, and my doctor says that there’s nothing to worry about.

Maternity clothes? Of course, although some are getting tighter.

Sleep? Heartburn is only occasional and not too terrible (it was awful with my first pregnancy), and I have only had one nightly leg cramp throughout this pregnancy (I had MANY with my first pregnancy). I’m sleeping fairly well, although sometimes I wake up for a snack or to use the backroom. If it’s one of those nights where I just can’t fall back asleep right away, I get up and do something productive like sewing!

Miss Anything? I guess I miss putting on my own shoes. I’m asking hubby to do it these days, and he wishes I would just wear slip-ons instead of my cute sandals. 😉

Movement: IOh yes, all the time.

Food cravings: Salads have been amazing this pregnancy, and lately I’ve been craving milk too.

Gender: It’s a boy! We actually found out at 15 weeks because it was OBVIOUS! If they told me girl at 15 weeks, I wouldn’t have believed them,  but with a boy, it’s pretty hard to deny. We announced it to our family on Thanksgiving.

Name: Linkin Jude

Labor Signs: Not a single sign of approaching labor… I’m mentally preparing myself for a late baby just in case. 🙂 I thought I might have felt a braxton hick contraction a few weeks ago, but I really think it was just some gas pains. My doctor will begin checking for dilation soon, but I’ve asked him not to tell me how I’m progressing if any at all. I think it just messes with my mind a little, and I get over-excited too soon. I’m patiently waiting until my little man tells me he’s ready to come out!

Belly Button: It’s an outie, but I’m used to it now so it doesn’t bother me. Some of my friends comment things like “I love your belly button,” which is super odd to me, but funny I guess.

Wedding Rings: On

Happy or Moody most of the time: Pretty happy, anxious, and excited! A little jealous of friends who’ve just had their babies tho… I just CAN’T WAIT until it’s my turn!

Looking Forward to: The challenge of a natural & drug-free labor – prayers appreciated!!

Next Appointment: Wednesday, then every week after that

The nursery is pretty complete, except for the glider that I am re-covering. My bag is packed, and I’ve stocked up on household goods like toilet paper and detergent so we won’t have to run out to get those things with a newborn. I guess I’ll try to do some freezer cooking over the next month and just continue to grow in excitement for our newest little one’s arrival.  I may practice some “big brother” things with Lawson to get him ready for this big event in his life too.

Now…. we wait! Stay tuned for a post of our Nursery Reveal and a post about what I’ve packed in my hospital bag.

Leave a Reply

