Intentional Parenting

005

One of my biggest goals of being a parent is that I do everything intentionally and with purpose. I don’t want to accidentally raise my child or wonder why he turned out a certain way. I want to think through every single action I take as a parent. I want to be on the same page with my husband in raising him and do it in a godly way.

With that being said, I also want to be a “yes” mom. When he asks if we can go outside or do this or that, I want to be available to say yes as often as I can. I know that saying no is also very necessary at times, and I’m not afraid to use that word. However, sometimes we get busy and aren’t as available for our children as we could be so we end up saying no a great deal more. We’ve already noticed this in our first year of parenting. If I’m busy working on something, the little man seems to get into more trouble. He needs me to spend time with him, and he craves the attention I give him. I try to plan my work and projects around him. Spend intentional time with him first, and he’ll be satisfied for a little while so I can be productive while he plays happily or let Daddy entertain him while I’m busy.

“Write these commandments that I’ve given you on your hearts. Get them inside of you, and get them inside of your children. Talk about them wherever you are, sitting at home or walking in the street; talk about them from the time you get up in the morning to when you fall into bed at night.” Deuteronomy 6:7 (The Message Translation)

I love this because I’ve always thought of my job of teaching my children as a job that would take place 24/7. When my children are awake, I will be teaching them. I will teach them at home and when we go out. There are learning opportunities everywhere, and there are examples of God’s love everywhere too.

Intentional Parents.com says, “Parents, we are on assignment from God! We are called to develop deliberate relationships with the children He has entrusted to us. Those relationships form the bridge for effectively imparting wisdom and preparing our children to be godly adults.”

Here are some areas in when I would like to be an intentional parent…

The Bible
I want my children not only to love reading, but love reading God’s word. I want to teach them how to study and watch them learn and grow in their Christianity as they progress from me teaching them what God’s word says to them independently studying and receiving their own rhema words from God and obeying Him in his commands to them.

Academics
I want my children to develop a love for learning and knowledge. I want them to be curious and ask questions. I want to answer as many of those questions that I can and find answers for the things I do not know.

Enjoyable Pastimes
I want to encourage my children to pursue what they love. I want our homeschool to be well-rounded focusing on more than just academics. Whether it’s ballet, photography, sports, art, or something else I want them to pursue and excel in what they choose to do and find a way to use it for God’s glory.

Character
I want to set a high standard for my children that they always strive to do and be their very best.  However, there is a fine line between striving for personal excellence and striving for perfection. I want them to learn the difference in these and just teach them to be like Jesus, using the fruits of the spirit. I want them to know that it’s okay to fail, and we’ll be right here to help them up and encourage them to try again, just like God always has been for us.

Home Skills
I want my children to be good helpers when it comes to keeping our house in order and getting things done. I don’t think this should be a one-person job but a team effort for the entire family. I love how Habits of a Healthy Home puts it when she calls daily chores “Service Opportunities”, because that’s exactly what they are – an opportunity to help someone who really needs your help. I also want my children to be well-rounded in this area as they grow up and start to leave the nest.

Leave a Reply

