A Daily Discipline

This morning’s entry in Jesus Calling says…

“Give your mind a break from planning and trying to anticipate what will happen. Pray continually, asking My Spirit to take charge of the details of this day. When you try to peer into the future and plan for every possibility, you ignore your constant Companion, who sustains you moment by moment. Remembrance of Me is a daily discipline.”

Oh, how much I needed this today! Naturally, I am just a planner, a list-maker, a note-taker at heart. I’m surrounded by lists and notes. If I look around and count right now, I bet I can find at least 10 without even leaving my chair or lifting my fingers off of this keyboard. This can be a positive thing, or it can be a negative thing when it’s done too much, and I lose focus on who really controls everything.

I’m so glad I was reminded of this today. This past week, we got news that will cut my income and make our budget even tighter. It was tight before, but now it will be REALLY tight, like $5 wiggle room at the end of the month. This doesn’t count any extras like clothes, doctor visits, extra formula for the baby, zip! It’s really okay though, and we aren’t worried one bit. We know who our provider is, and hey, at least we’re positive at the end of the month instead of negative!

But before reading this today, I’ve been a little confused. See, I thought it was all about our stewardship. I thought all my planning and calculating was good because it was helping me to be a good steward of our finances. I mean, when I make a grocery list I know everything that will be coming home with us before I even walk into the store. I know which coupons I will use and exactly how much money I will have to pay. But you see, while I’m working so hard to be a good steward of our money and resources, I’m failing to be a good steward of my time with Jesus – my time just trusting Him.

So this week, I’m going to focus on the daily discipline of praying CONTINUALLY to my constant companion, and all the other little details will just fall into place with Him as my guide.

Leave a Reply

