June 24-28 Recap

HMJ-Logo-500x484

In our homeschool this week…
We’ve been learning about the color yellow and circles. We’re also coloring different fruits and vegetables with each color we learn to make a neat book at the end. This week we colored a banana, a lemon, corn on the cob, and a pineapple.

My favorite thing this week was…
shopping with my little one’s birthday money. :-) He just turned one so I get to shop for him still, which I love. I ordered him some educational toys from Learning Resources and some clothes from Baby Gap and The Children’s Place. It was so much fun to pick things out for my little man, especially because it was with his birthday money. We still have a gift card left, and I’ll let him pick out a toy with that.

Here’s some of the things that have already arrived in the mail… I can’t wait to sort those colors with the boys!
smile11 smile12

My kiddos favorite thing this week was…
playing with Ryce Man’s new toys he got for his birthday! He got new Melissa & Doug puzzles (my fave!), a Radio Flyer Scoot n Zoom, a drum, and his favorite toy this week has been his Melissa & Doug Pound & Roll Tower.

Things I’m working on…
I’m organizing bathroom cabinets this week. I might even get around to finish painting the laundry room this weekend if little man spends the night with his grandparents. I think that’ll be a win win, but am I the only mom who would rather have her kid with her 24/7 than share them. I’m trying to get better at this as you can see, but I just love spending every waking minute with my little boy. That’s crazy, right? :-)

I’m cooking…
This week I make stuffed banana peppers. My husband’s grandmother brought us some fresh veggies and some fried green tomatoes one afternoon this week. She told me I should make stuffed banana peppers. If she hadn’t given me that idea, I honestly probably would’ve let them sit in that produce bowl until they went bad and I throw them out. But I decided to be brave and give it a try since she told be banana peppers weren’t a spicy pepper. I googled a recipe, but basically made my own.
    I cut them in half and scraped them out. I filled them with a string cheese log, or half -whatever would fit. I sprinkled a tiny bit of red pepper on top for a little kick and whatever other seasonings I thought might go well (who knows? I guess every time). I drizzled some olive oil and put them under the broiler for just a few minutes. I sprinkled some grated Parmesan cheese when they came out, and they were very tasty! 

I’m grateful for…
those fresh veggies and the little cooking tip I got this week!

Something I am ogling or have my eye on…
I keep seeing ads for this website all over the web so I decided to check it out. Maybe that was a bad idea because I pretty much love everything on here, but none of it is in my budget. Lol. If anyone would like to make my day/week/month/year (I know, it doesn’t take much!) , you’re welcome to find something from this website and send it to me! Haha.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share (silly, serious or both!)…
This is how we caught my little man sleeping one night this week. “No more monkies jumping on the bed!” And yes, every night as I walk down the hall towards our room, I stop and take a peek at my little man sleeping. It’s a precious reward of being a mom!
smile3

And some of my little man’s new skills he learned this week…
He can now climb into and out of his rocking chair all my himself!

smile9 smile8

Little man fed himself some oatmeal one morning this week. Yes, it was very messy. I think the key is to give him two spoons. Otherwise, the empty hand goes right into the oatmeal, and he has no use for a spoon at all. He did a really good job of scooping and bringing the spoon to his mouth without spilling most of the time. I’m pretty proud of my 12 month old!

smile7 smile5 smile4

And this is the big ole grin that makes me so happy when I wake up in the mornings. This is during one of our “Mommy and Me” breakfasts another day this week… it’s a fancy way of saying “We eat breakfast together”. :-)

smile

1 Comment

  1. Very cute pictures of your little one feeding himself! Seems like so many of the blogs I’m visiting these days are celebrating birthdays. My daughter’s birthday is this coming week. Visiting from HMJ – have a great week!

Leave a Reply

